5. Sunnegga Paradise is an absolute paradise for families. The funicular ride from the valley station in Zermatt to Sunnegga takes only 3 minutes. The railway, fully renovated in 2013, leads up a rock tunnel through the inside of the mountain to this sunny, scenic terrace with incomparable views of the Matterhorn. Sunnegga Paradise offers many activities. In summer, the marmot watching station is just a few minutes walk from Sunnegga and promises an unforgettable experience for the whole family. A theme trail reveals fascinating facts about these charming mammals, which live in burrows high in the Alps. Also in summer, families adore coming up to the crystal clear waters of the Leisee. This is the top spot for an outdoor swim in Zermatt, complete with children’s playground and barbecue areas. Children love playing on the big raft and splashing around in the water, while adults relax and enjoy the glorious view of the Matterhorn. In winter, skiers and snowboarders continue on the gondolas, chairlifts and finally the cable car up to the Rothorn. This is the gateway for adventures on the sunny pistes of the whole Rothorn area. However, many return happily to the terrace of the self-service restaurant to enjoy the sunshine and the superb views of the Matterhorn. There is also Wolli’s park near by where children’s can have an amazing time.
6. The church of St.Mauritius in Zermatt is the focus of a vibrant community where the parish is one of the liveliest in the whole of the Upper Valais. Locals and visitors from all over the world attend Mass here. The first historical record of the parish church of St.Mauritius dates from 1285. It can be assumed that back then it was a small and modest place of worship. Over the following centuries, the church was enlarged and renovated several times. The predecessor of the current parish church was probably built in 1587 in the so-called Italian style. Originally the parish church had three Gothic altars. Following the custom at the time, these were replaced by baroque altars in the 18th century. On the south side of the church were the cemetery and the charnel house from 1651. To celebrate the 700th anniversary of the parish in 1980, the parish priest undertook a complete renovation of the church. Changes to the interior included removing confessionals and double benches from the aisles, taking away the pulpit, adding a celebration altar, replacing the Stations of the Cross and converting the baptismal chapel into a chapel dedicated to the Virgin Mary. The ceilings of the choir and vaulted nave were also painted. The painting on the ceiling in the center of the nave, “Noah’s ark”, is by the artist Paolo Parente from Florence and also dates from 1980. This beautiful church is very popular for weddings and is famous for the view of the Matterhorn. Visitors can take a beautiful photograph of the Matterhorn and the church from the entrance steps.